초롱이 ★  ごきげんよう

When a dictionary isn’t cutting it…

Posted in Japanese, korean, language learning, rant by choronghi.WORDPRESS.COM on August 17, 2012

first off, epiphany of the day!

열심히 this word is as common as the word ganbaru in japannese. I feel like despite the fact that i’m not immersing/drowning myself in korean right now i feel like yershimhi is more popular than him-ne. Anyways my epiphany was this word is made up of kanji! I never thought of it like that… it’s not like I 100%  believed 열심히 isn’t based on kanji, I just never thought about it and upon thinking about it… it totally is. the same also goes for that common korean phrase 감사합니다. (btw it’s not pronounced like hop-nida… it’s pronounced like 함니다 ham if anything. which also reminds me of japanese like with the word 雰囲気 (ふんい‐き)+ 店員(てんいん). They are actually pronounced more like  ふいんき && ていん ていいん respectively. actually I forgot the real okurigana for fun-iki (had to look it up lol).. only fuinki was in my head lol but LUCKILY since i have google ime it still converted 🙂

going back to 열심히 and 감사합니다 the chinese charcters are

熱心히 && 感謝합 니다. although the chinese characters for the word kansha/gamsa are the same in korean and japanese it’s not used the same way because arigatou gozaimasu = kamusahamnida. In japanese 感謝shimasu means I’m grateful so that’s different from Thank you. so you know you shouldn’t direct translate or assume the usage is the same in another language unless you want to embarrass yourself because you’re such  a masochist (pronounced masokist. I constantly forget how to read this word every time i see the spelling so just putting it there for my sanity)

sometimes the dictionary’s definition doesn’t help ie with english i need to consult the urbandictionary lol.

Anyways for Japanese there have been words where I hear/see it and i look it up in the dic and it’s  still not clear (the definition is just scarce and sometimes I just need a definition/explanation that keeps it REAL). so at this point I either give up or look into googling around with word + imi and usually I get to chiebukuro or someone’s blog. And this has been instrumental in my learning because i get to read a japanese person’s explanation of the word from his/her Japanese perspective and they might explain with examples, etc etc, so it’s mad HELPFUL. (If you have yet to experience this YOU NEEED TO GO EXPLORE AND FIND SOME JAPNAESE MEDIA YOU LIKE. like for me, like i said i’m buried with qued up albums, talk variety show eps, japnese dramas i want to watch, japanese websites/articles I want to read, japanese books I want to read…. so you should get out there and explore the native materials and sucked into it instead of memorizing stupid words off a list that you’ll forget anyway since you don’t know do anything in Japanese)

some stuff you cannot get from dictionary include
super slang, kansai-ben, any-ben, certain adjectives, internet language (ie kwsk)

ALSO sometimes google images explains better than words just because a picture is a 1000 WORDS. so examples of this… was 伏し目 上目遣い ETC ETC.. It’s not like I have a problme understanding the description but it just leaves a more of an impression with the actual image than the description and sometimes the description is just not that thorough  but you can just google image it so it’s okay…

recently I finally googled/chiebukurored the word
けしっからん

this word is in my deck 3  times and it still don’t make no sense lol. what had happened was I camea cross this word AGAIN and looked it up in yahoo jp dic AGAIN and it still wans’t ENOUGH and so I finally looked it up on chiebukuro and now I get it. thanks peeps. one of the problems is kesshikaran has like 3 definitions, the definitions are not enough (too scarce), secondly the context wasn’t that clear on the tv show (I knew matsuko deluxe was saying it with a punch like she really enjoyed using this word to describe the situation or person or whatever)

開き直るis something i looked up a long time ago… like i read the english definition, and i read the japanese definition (or maybe at that time I was still just using english dictionaries) and then i was like okay I get it and then I came across the word again and I was like no I don’t think I gots this lol and then I did the goog/echiebukuro thing… and then somebody already had asked this so they answer with examples /in their own words/etc etc.. and  then I got it.

i just thought of 3 words. they’re both from nobuta wo produce they are

要領 キャピキャピ ビシっと

I believe at the time I was using rikai-chan (english translation) to learn anda for youryou i was like i dun get it after i read the defintion. i’ve gottten to undersatnd youryou’s definition by seeing it being used. I don’t know if it’s because rikai-chan showed me thedefinition for youryou only and didn’t show me the definiton for youryou ga ii … buti just remember going i dun get it.

for kyapikyapi and bishitto…. it’s just a lot easier to understand it’s meaning by seeing it being used and/or reading defintion in japanese than english …

ALSO chiebukuro/googling is just plain useful for learning about differences betwen 2 words or 2 concepts or 2 whaever that you don’t get.
example:

STuff I’ve looked up and found were and not limited to
お いて おける – I still don’t get it lol. I get it it’s just i have to memorize that oite is for _ and okeru is for _ but I don’t like memorizing/drilling. so help me here immersion!
起こる 起きる – even japanese don’t really get it .lol. I love some of the theories people came up with.
悲しい 哀しい – I was just nodding to what people said. I totally garee.
予測 VS 予想
so I would search the two words + chigai

It also happened with korean~~

so the japanese definition gives me this which makes me go ? because the word was used to describe some situation in some variety show and i thought the meaning is more awkward” than “quiet”. so i searched around and people described that word as meaning that so  i was right 🙂 like I said sometimes the dictionary rocks and sometimes it sucks

어ː색 [語塞]
[명사·하다형 자동사]言葉がつまること;返答に窮すること。

another thing that’s related to asking people about japanese online or googling around in japanese as opposed to dictionary is stuff written on the internet or something that may not have been proofread for whatever reason. So i’ve asked on chiebukuro in the past like oh is this gramatically correct or is this keigo allright or is this correct japanese etc etc and usually if i ask it there is something wrong with it and then people tell me what’s wrong with it or how to fix it or what’s a more appropriate way to say it etc etc or I might learn something new about a word or a grammar. I ask because I want to add it to my deck for whatver reason but I’m not sure if it’s right. obviously, if you do this in your beginning stage it would be very time-consuming since you can’t tell what’s right plus you can’t use chiebukuro anyway lol. so anyawys i recomend to advanced people if you do care/curious about stuff.

http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg841/scaled.php?server=841&filename=o0800106710361913522.jpg&res=landing
栗原 類 KURIHARA RUI
So I noticed this “new” tarento moderu (is he a charisma model? lol like komori jun) they’re trying to promote since he’s “unique” he’s reminiscent of sashihara perhaps? eh, beats me. they’re both negative. it’s sorta unique. negative idol even though idols are suppsoed to be super bubbly,cheery etc. Super hot model who is negative.  I really want to see kurihara and ariyoshi interact though, that’s for sure. i’m sure sashihara + kuihara rui would be interesting too.

he’s funny unintentionally because he’s very negative. he said something about living in new york in the 50 questions so i’m going to assume he speaks english. so i’m going to assume his japanese ain’t that good? i’m not sayin it’s bad but I noticed there’s parts where he mumbles and i’m like wtf i giveup cannot catch what you said + he’s negative so maybe that’s why + he keeps saying 風に (and i’m just like no it JUST IS. it don’t gotta in some way. it just is… let’s stop it please) – maybe he was just nervous or the negativity that he emits is making him nervous

maybe he’ll be the next ro-ra~  speaking of which ro-ra on honma dekka was just…epic? or at least i expected it to be.  she’s so random and her interacting with those senmonka people was like …. TV GOLD

THE REASON I mention him, the reason why he’s relevant to the crap i wrote above is the fact that he said I confessed my love to 4 girls and i got dumped by all of them.
and they asked him were you okay and  after that he says that he says 予測できたんで大丈夫です OR SMomething along those lines and i was like thinking in that moment oh what’s the diff bt yosoku and yosou and does the fact that he used yosoku perpetutate his negativity? and upon my search I would say it does. i think him using yosoku is more negative than yosou. It sorta reminds me of sashihara…. well when she was lying on the show about how she could never go out with a good looking guy  (even though she did … ) because she thought if he confessed his love to her she would think he was being forced by a friend or that it was a prank… like she would think in that calculating way that is very negative.

so the explanation i got was
予測 VS 予想
「予測」「予想」は、将来のことを前もって見当をつけて、どうなるかを推測することだが、

「予測」のほうが、データなどに基づきより具体的であることが多い。

====


2012/09/11 栗原類 僕がビデオをレンタルしない理由は?

I recently saw a short segment where he’s like i buy movies, i don’t rent and there’s 2 reasons. one is… because he likes movies.

the second reason is… I’ mscared that the movie i rent will be like the last one and then someone else who wanted to see that movie won’t be able to and they’ll be pissed/sad/disappointed/etc.

also he’s very assertive with his negativeness . if somebody says a compliment to him, even before they finish saying the sentence, he refutes them and says no i’m not ___ or no  i don’t ___ .

so I love how he’s not just negative but like considerate-negative/very aware/ negative in a way that he wants to not cause any trouble to others.

and the rora x kurihara date segment is epic!

Leave a Reply

